National Civilian Awards

Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna (Jewel of India) is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India.

Instituted on 2 January 1954, the award is conferred "in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order", without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. The award was originally limited to achievements in the arts, literature, science and public services but the government expanded the criteria to include "any field of human endeavour" in December 2011.

Recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year. Recipients receive a *Sanad* (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal-leaf—shaped medallion. There is no monetary grant associated with the award.

The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, scientist C. V. Raman and philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, who were honoured in 1954. Since then, the award has been bestowed on 45 individuals including 12 who were awarded posthumously. In 1966, former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri became the first individual to be honoured posthumously. In 2013, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, aged 40, became the youngest recipient of the award.

Though usually conferred on Indian citizens, the Bharat Ratna has been awarded to one naturalised citizen, Mother Teresa in 1980, and to two non-Indians, Pakistan national Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan in 1987 and former South African President Nelson Mandela in 1990.

Most recently, Indian government has announced the award to freedom fighter Madan Mohan Malaviya (posthumously) and former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee on 24 December 2014.





Bharat Ratna Awardees

Year	Image	Laureates	Notes
		C. Rajagopalachari	Independence activist, last and only Indian Governor-General of India
1954		C. V. Raman	Nobel laureate physicist (1930)
	The same of the sa	Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan	Philosopher, India's first Vice-President (1952–62), and second President (1962–67)
		Bhagwan Das	Independence activist, theosophist, and founder of Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith
1955		Visvesvaraya	Civil engineer, statesman and Diwan of Mysore (1912–18)
	200	Jawaharlal Nehru	Independence activist, author, and first Prime Minister of India (1947–64)
1957	C. C	Govind Ballabh Pant	Independence activist, first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh (1950–54)
1958	u ji	Dhondo Keshav Karve	Social reformer

1961		Bidhan Chandra Roy	Physician-Surgeon and second Chief Minister of West Bengal (1948–62)
	1 cc	Purushottam Das Tandon	Independence activist, educator
1962		Rajendra Prasad	Independence activist, lawyer, first President of India (1950–62)
1963		Zakir Husain	Independence activist, second Vice-President of India (1962–67), and third President of India (1967–69)
1903		Pandurang Vaman Kane	Indologist and Sanskrit scholar
1966	ara In	Lal Bahadur Shastri	Independence activist and second Prime Minister of India (1964–66)
1971		Indira Gandhi	Former Prime Minister of India (1966–77, 1980–84)
1975	·	V. V. Giri	Trade unionist, first Acting President of India, and fourth President of India (1969–74)
1976		K. Kamaraj	Independence activist and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu (1954–57, 1957–62, 1962–63)

1980	Mother Teresa	Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity and Nobel peace prize laureate (1979)
1983	Vinoba Bhave	Independence activist, social reformer, and Ramon Magsaysay Award laureate (1958)
1987	Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan	Independence activist
1988	M. G. Ramachandran	Film actor and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu (1977–80, 1980–84, 1985–87)
1990	B. R. Ambedkar	†Chief architect of the Indian Constitution and social reformer
	Nelson Mandela	Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa and Nobel Peace Prize laureate (1993)
	Rajiv Gandhi	Ninth Prime Minister of India (1984–89)
1991	Vallabhbhai Patel	Independence activist and first Deputy Prime Minister of India (1947–50)
	Morarji Desai	Independence activist and sixth Prime Minister of India (1977–79)

		Abul Kalam Azad	Independence activist
1992	_	J. R. D. Tata	Industrialist and philanthropist
	Arrest A	Satyajit Ray	Filmmaker
		Gulzarilal Nanda	Independence activist and two times interim Prime Minister of India
1997	2	Aruna Asaf Ali	Independence activist
		A. P. J. Abdul Kalam	Aerospace and Defense Scientist, eleventh President of India (2002–07)
1998	(a)	M. S. Subbulakshmi	Carnatic classical vocalist
		Chidambaram Subramaniam	Independence activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India (1964–66)
1999	G	Jayaprakash Narayan	Independence activist and social reformer

		Ravi Shankar	Hindustani classical Sitar player
		Amartya Sen	Nobel laureate economist (1998)
	-	Gopinath Bordoloi	Independence activist, first Chief Minister of Assam (1946–50)
2001		Lata Mangeshkar	Playback singer
	c Su	Bismillah Khan	Hindustani classical Shehnai player
2009		Bhimsen Joshi	Hindustani classical vocalist
2014		C. N. R. Rao	Scientist
	0	Sachin Tendulkar	Cricketer
2015		Madan Mohan Malaviya	Educationist and politician (President of Indian National Congress (INC) in 1909, 1918)
		Atal Bihari Vajpayee	Former Prime Minister of India (1996), (1998), (1999-2004), poet

Padma Awards

Padma Awards were instituted in the year 1954. The award is given in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

- Padma Vibhushan for 'exceptional and distinguished service'.
- Padma Bhushan for 'distinguished service of a high order'.
- Padma Shri is awarded for 'distinguished service'.

The award seeks to recognize work of any distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines, such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry etc. All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards. These awards have also been awarded to some distinguished individuals who were not citizens of India but did contribute to India in various ways.

The recommendations for Padma Awards are received from the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations, Central Ministries/Departments, Institutions of Excellence, etc. which are considered by an Awards Committee. On the basis of the recommendations of the Awards Committee, and after approval of the Home Minister, Prime Minister and President, the Padma Awards are announced on the eve of the Republic Day. The awards are handed over to the awardees by the President of India, at a later date.

The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously if the demise of the person proposed to be honoured has been recent. A higher category of Padma award can be conferred on a person only where a period of at least five years has elapsed since conferment of the earlier Padma award. However, in highly deserving cases, a relaxation can be made by the Awards Committee.



Padma Vibhushan Award

Recent awardees: Amitabh Bachchan and L K Advani in 2015.



Padma Bhushan Award

Recent awardees: Manjul Bhargava and Bill Gates in 2015.



Padma Shri Award

Recent awardees: Prasoon Joshi and T V Mohandas Pai in 2015.