National Bravery Awards

The **National Bravery Awards** are a set of awards given annually to about 24 Indian children for "meritorious acts of bravery against all odds." The awards are given by the Government of India and the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW). The award was instituted in 1957.

The National Bravery Awards consist of five categories, which are listed below.

- > The **Bharat Award**, since 1987
- The Sanjay Chopra Award, since 1978
- > The **Geeta Chopra Award**, since 1978
- The **Bapu Gaidhani Award**, since 1988
- General National Bravery Awards, since 1957

The awards are given to children who were between the ages of six to eighteen when they committed their acts of bravery. The award includes a medal, a certificate, and a cash prize. The Bharat Award winner gets a gold medal, while the rest get a silver medal. Each child is also given financial assistance to complete his or her schooling, as a part of ICCW's sponsorship program, under the Indira Gandhi scholarship scheme. In 2009, the Government of India announced it was reserving some seats in medical, engineering, and polytechnic colleges for the winners of the awards.

On 2 October 1957, India's first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, was watching a performance Delhi's Ramlila ground, at the Red Fort. During the performance, a short circuit caused a fire to break out in a *shamiana* (decorated tent). **Harish Chandra**, a 14-year-old scout, promptly took out his knife and ripped open the burning tent, saving the lives of hundreds of trapped people. This incident inspired Nehru to ask the authorities to establish an award to honour brave children from all over the country.

The first official National Bravery Awards were presented to Harish Chandra and one other child on 4 February 1958, by Prime Minister Nehru, and the ICCW has continued the tradition ever since. **The Sanjay Chopra Award** and **the Geeta Chopra Award** were established in 1978, in memory of two Chopra children who lost their lives while confronting their kidnappers. The Sanjay and Geeta awards are given to a boy and a girl for acts of bravery. **The Bharat Award** was established in 1987, and the **Bapu Gaidhani Award** was established in 1988

Each year, the ICCW receives applications for the National Bravery Award. These applications come from official agencies such as local and district governments, school authorities, and councils for child welfare. Awardees are selected by a committee constituted by the ICCW. This committee consists of representatives from leading government and non-government organizations.

The awards are usually announced on 14 November, Children's Day, or in January the following year, and later presented by the prime minister on the eve of the Republic Day. Prior to this the President hosts a reception in their honour, where the children meet the media. On 26 January, the awardees take part in the Republic Day Parade at Rajpath, New Delhi.



National Bravery Awards 2015

Bharat Award



Reshma Fatma (17-years old)

17-year old Resham Fatma's 38-year old uncle poured acid on her head when she refused to marry him. He further wanted to kill her, but Fatma showed great courage and pushed him off the car. She then managed to escape and went directly to the police station. The culprit was arrested within a week and committed suicide in jail.

Sanjay Chopra Award



Devesh Kumar (16-years old)

This 16 year old youth from Uttar Pradesh showed extra ordinary courage while confronting two chain snatchers who took away a school principal's chain. Kumar, who wants to join the army or police force and fight criminals, also had to take a bullet on his waist while dealing with the chain snatchers.

Geeta Chopra Award



Gunjan Sharma (13-years old)

Gunjan is an epitome of courage and selflessness. This young girl offered herself to be taken as hostage to save her friends. She, along with her classmates, were abducted in a school van in Assam. The miscreants took her to the jungle and even put a pistol in her mouth to prevent her from shouting when security personnel came looking for her. She was eventually freed by the gunmen and we salute her for immense courage and for standing up for her friends

Bapu Gaidhani Award



Rumoh Meto (13-years old)

Rumoh risked his own life while saving a 32-year old man who was stuck to a 33 KV high voltage line. Rumoh sustained serious injuries and burns in his first attempt to free the man from the live wire, but he did not give up and pushed him again with greater strength to get rid of the wire. The brave act saved a life.



Late Riya Chaudhary (15-years old)

Riya, a 15-year old girl from Lucknow, sacrificed her life to save her father last year. When some miscreants forcefully entered her house and started assaulting her family, one of the gunmen shot a bullet aimed at her father. She came in the way, taking the bullet on herself. She managed to save her father's life but died on the spot.



Late Monika (16-years old)

Monika sets an example of true bravery. The 16 year old girl from Uttarakhand was washing clothes at the bank of the Alaknanda river in Chamoli district when she saw her 10 year old neighbour falling into the water. She jumped in after him and pulled him out by his hair. But she could not save herself from the strength of the current and sadly drowned

> The other 17 awardees of 2015

Zeal Jitendra Marathe	Anjith P		
(13-years old)	(12-years old)		
Hiral Jitubhai Halpati	Aqil Mohammad NK		
(17-years old)	(9-years old)		
Sahanesh R	Midhun PP		
(13-years old)	(14-years old)		
Ashwini Bandu Ughade	Stevenson Lawriniang		
(13-years old)	(14-years old)		
L Brainson Singh	Mhonbeni Ezung		
(10-years old)	(8-years old)		
G Tooldev Sharma	Labhanshu		
(9-years old)	(15-years old)		
Ripa Das	Late Gaurav Kumar Bharti		
(7-years old)	(15-years old)		
Balram Dansena	Lata Masak K Pampalalnghaka		
	Late Mesak K Remnalalnghaka		
(11-years old)	(14-years old)		
Rajdeep Das			
(16-years old)			